Colorado Employers – Parental Involvement in K-12 Education Act – Summary
Beginning in August 2009, both public and private employers in the State of Colorado who, similar to FMLA regulations, have 50 or more employees, are now required to provide unpaid leave time to non-supervisory and non-executive level employees for attending parent teacher conferences and/or other academic activities for their children ages kindergarten through twelfth grade. Unpaid time-off is limited to 18 hours per school year, not to exceed 6 hours per month. Employers can require written verification from the child’s school, one week advance notice, and can limit the leave to 3 hour increments. Employers can make arrangements with employees to access their leave time, and in return, work the amount of hours they are absent during the same work week as not to fall below their minimum working hours for that week. Questions? Please contact us.